Padmashri Award Winners In Film Industry


 Padmashri Award Winners In Film Industry- 1958-1967

‘padma shri’ is the 4th highest award which is given by Government of India. President of India awards this to the persons who contribute their valuable services to the people in the fields of arts, Education, Industry, Literature, Science, sports, Medicine, Social service and public affairs. The Indian Government started giving this award in 1954 and  2,913 persons have received so far. Here are the Film Industry padmashri Award Winners  who showcased their acting skills on the silver screen and did a sort of social service.

An Indian actress Nargis received Padma shri Award in 1958 as she was so talented artiste. And she showcased her tremendous acting skills in the movies such as ‘Barsaat’, ‘Andaz’, ‘Awaara”, ‘Shree 420’, ‘Mother India’ and so on. These films made her deserve Padma shri award.

Devika Rani is the first lady who ruled Bollywood as a queen actress for 10 years. She got Padmashri award in 1958. She rose to the high popularity with the films such as ‘Karma’, ‘Jawani Ki Hawa’,’ Mamta Aur Mian Biwi’, ‘ Nirmala’,’ Vachan’, ‘Durga’ and ‘Anjana”.


Film Industry padmashri Award Winners

Name State Year
Nargis Maharashtra 1958
Devika Rani Karnataka 1958
Satyajit Ray West Bengal 1958
M. G. Ramachandran Tamil Nadu 1960
Ashok Kumar Maharashtra 1962
Mehboob Khan Maharashtra 1963
Chittor V. Nagaiah Tamil Nadu 1965
Sivaji Ganesan Tamil Nadu 1966
Bhanumathi Ramakrishna Tamil Nadu 1966
Mohammed Rafi Punjab 1967


M.G.Rama Chandran was one of the most popular Indian actors. After rising to great stardom in the Tamil films, he entered in to politics and became the Chief minister. He received Padma Shri award in 1960. The movies in which he acted were ‘Sathi Leelavathi”,” Prahlada”,”Harichandra’, ”Marma Yogi”, Urimai Kural” brought him the honor.

 Padmashri Award Winners In Film Industry-Shivagi Ganeshan

He received Padma Shri award in 1966. He had acted in two hundred and eighty three movies in Tamil, Telugu, Kannada and Malayalam over fifty decades.

Some of his best movies such as ‘Kangal’,’ Manohara’,” Ananda Naal’,’ Mudhal Thethi’,’ Raja Rani’,’ Rangoon Radha’ ‘ Balar Pirai’ and ‘Navarathri’ helped enabled him to deserve for Padmashri .


Film Industry padmashri Award Winners


 Padmashri Award Winners In Film Industry- 1967-1977

N.T Rama Rao is a well- known Indian actor who was honored with Padma shri award in 1968. He played the roles in different genres. His career best movies like ‘ Maya Bazaar’,’ Lava Kusha’,’ Devudu Chesina Manushulu’, ‘Ramu’ , Chiranjeevulu’, ‘ Kalasi Vunte Kaladu Sukham’,’ Missamma”,’ Gundamma Katha’, ‘Bhoo Kailash’, Pandu Ranga Mahathyam” and so on brought him the honor of getting Padma shri award.

Akkineni Nageswara Rao was garnerd with Padma shri award  in 1968. His career best movies are considered to be ‘Missamma’,’ Devadasu’,’ Anarkali’,’ Mooga Manasulu’,’ Gundamma Katha’,’ Ardhangi’,’ Mangalya Balam’,’ and so on.

Name State Year
Sunil Dutt Maharashtra 1968
Akkineni Nageswara Rao Andhra Pradesh 1968
N. T. Rama Rao Andhra Pradesh 1968
Vyjayanthimala Tamil Nadu 1968
S. D. Burman West Bengal 1969
B. Saroja Devi Karnataka 1969
Balraj Sahni Punjab 1969
Gemini Ganesan Tamil Nadu 1970
Rajendra Kumar Maharashtra 1970
T. R. Mahalingam Tamil Nadu 1970
Pankaj Mullick West Bengal 1970
Relangi Venkata Ramaiah Andhra Pradesh 1970
G. Venkateswara Rao Andhra Pradesh 1970
M. Balamuralikrishna Andhra Pradesh 1971
Manna Dey Maharashtra 1971
M. K. Radha Tamil Nadu 1972
Waheeda Rehman Maharashtra 1972
Suchitra Sen West Bengal 1972
Girish Karnad Karnataka 1974
Shriram Lagoo Maharashtra 1974
Nutan Maharashtra 1974
K. J. Yesudas Kerala 1975
Shyam Benegal Maharashtra 1976


Film Industry padmashri Award Winners



Film Industry padmashri Award Winners


 Padmashri Award Winners In Film Industry- 1978-1987

AmitabBachan received Padma shri award in 1984. His movies like ‘ Parwana’, ‘Anand’ ‘Sholay” Sil Sila’, ‘Kabhi kabhi” ‘Janjeer’, ‘Mukaddar ka Sikandar’,’ Adalath’, and so on. His contribution to the Indian cinema through his extraordinary performance in the films  got him ‘Padma’ award.

 K.Bala Chandar is a film director. Mainly, he directed for Tamil films. He is not only a film director but also screenplay- writer. And also, he had produced a few Tamil movies.  Besides Tamil movies, Bala Chandar worked for Telugu, Malayalam and Kannada for more than hundred movies. He even introduced the stars like Kamal Hassan, Saritha, Rajini Kanth, Nazar, Prakash Raj Aravind and so on. No doubt to say that he deserved Padma shri Award.

Bala Murali Krishna is a Carnatic vocalist , Musician and Play back singer. He received Padma shri award in 1971.He experimented in Carnatic music in different ways. He performed over twenty five thousand on the stage all over the world.

Name State Year
Amitabh Bachchan Maharashtra 1984
Naseeruddin Shah Maharashtra 1985
K. Balachander Tamil Nadu 1987

Film Industry padmashri Award Winners


About Author

Leave A Reply